Select Page

Introduction and map

World Heritage

Pre-Romanesque buildings World Heritage:

The outstanding, universal values, the original status and excellent conservation of the pre-Romanesque buildings made them deserving of the greatest recognition in the field of Cultural Heritage, when, in December 1985, the UNESCO included a representative sample of the ensemble of pre-Romanesque buildings in Asturias in the List of World Heritage. In this first statement they included: the churches of Santa María del Naranco, San Miguel de Lillo and Santa Cristina de Lena and afterwards, in 1998, it was extended to include San Julián de los Prados, Cámara Santa of the Oviedo Cathedral and Fountain of Foncalada (


In 2015, the church of San Salvador de Priesca was added, in this case due to its connection to the Way of St. James pilgrimage route, declared a World Heritage Site in 2015, and one year later, the church of San Salvador de Valdediós was added to the tentative list of World Heritage Sites, which is the step prior to addition to the List of World Heritage Sites of the UNESCO.
This recognition also entails greater demands on the proprietary institution, the Catholic Church, and on the public administrations involved in the management, conservation and dissemination of this unsurpassed heritage site.

  1. Cámara Santa of the Cathedral of San Salvador of Oviedo
  2. Church of San Julián de los Prados / Santullano of Oviedo
  3. Church of San Miguel de Lillo/Lliño, Oviedo
  4. Church of Santa María del Naranco, Oviedo
  5. Church of Santa Cristina de Lena, Lena
  6. Church of the San Salvador de Valdediós, Villaviciosa
  7. Church of the San Salvador de Priesca, Villaviciosa
  8. Fountain of Foncalada, Oviedo